What you will learn
On this pageContentsCloseOpen
A customer types "For Dad, 1958" into an engraving field and clicks Add to cart. What did they actually see? On a stock Shopify theme, the answer is: the text they typed, sitting in a box below the product image. Not the ring. Not the plate. Not the mug.
That gap is not a theme problem or a plan problem. Shopify's own documentation describes line item properties as a way to "capture monogram or engraving text, or let a customer upload a file." Capture. There is no documented mechanism anywhere in shopify.dev or the Help Center that takes that input and composites it onto the product image. Native product options are a data capture mechanism, not a rendering engine.
So you install an app. And this is where the decision gets genuinely hard, because the seven serious contenders in this category do not just differ on features. They bill in three structurally different ways, and at the same revenue, the amount you pay can differ by more than two orders of magnitude.
Feature comparisons for this category already exist. Same-assumption cost math does not, so that is what this article is.
All pricing below was verified on September 2, 2026, from each app's Shopify App Store listing at the en locale and, where the vendor publishes one, from their own pricing page. Pricing here changes frequently. Confirm before you install.
What Shopify gives you, and where it stops
Briefly, because this ground is covered in our article on Shopify's variant and option limits.
You get up to 2,048 variants and a maximum of three options per product. You get line item properties, which you add to the product form in your theme as name="properties[Engraving]", and which accept free text and file uploads. The cart template can even detect uploaded files and link to them. Collection works.
What does not exist:
- Compositing. Nothing in Shopify renders the submitted text or image onto the product photo.
- A preview saved to the order. You cannot store what the customer saw as order data, which is why so many stores end up emailing PNG proofs by hand.
- Print-ready output. The uploaded original is retrievable. Layout, bleed, and vectorization are not native functions.
- A plan-based escape hatch. Variant limits, option limits, and line item properties are identical on Basic, Grow, Advanced, and Plus. Upgrading to Shopify Plus does not add live preview.
Shopify Functions will not do this either. Functions handle cart transforms, discounts, and validations. Several customizer apps do request Functions access, but they use it to apply dynamic pricing, not to draw anything.
If your engraving text is short, your volume is low, and customers buy without seeing a mockup, native line item properties are genuinely enough. Stay there. The rest of this article assumes visual confirmation matters to your conversion or return rate.
The three billing models
Type A: flat monthly. A fixed amount, no per-order fee, no percentage. Zepto Product Personalizer, Inkybay, and Easify Custom Product Options. Inkybay's Starter plan states "0% Commission" outright.
Type B: monthly plus a per-item fee. A base subscription plus a fixed dollar amount per personalized item, tiered downward as volume rises. Customily Product Personalizer and Teeinblue Product Personalizer. A per-item fee is indifferent to your price tag.
Type C: monthly plus a percentage of sales. A base subscription plus a cut of revenue from customized products only, not your whole store. Zakeke - Customizer 2D & 3D and Kickflip. A percentage fee is very much not indifferent to your price tag.
What the same volume costs across all seven
Assumptions: 100, 500, and 2,000 customized order items per month at an average of $60 per item, which is $6,000, $30,000, and $120,000 in customized revenue. Annual discounts, add-ons, and taxes are excluded.
| App | Model | 100 items | 500 items | 2,000 items |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Easify Custom Product Options | A | $19.99 | $19.99 | $19.99 |
| Zepto Product Personalizer | A | $9.99 | $29.99 | $49.99 |
| Inkybay - Product Personalizer | A | $49.99 | $99.99 | $99.99 |
| Teeinblue Product Personalizer | B | $49.00 | $209.00 | $609.00 |
| Customily Product Personalizer | B | $149.00 | $349.00 | $849.00 |
| Zakeke - Customizer 2D & 3D | C | $183.90 | $639.90 | $2,099.90 |
| Kickflip product configurators | C | $176.00 | $644.00 | up to $2,399.00 |
Read the notes before you act on any row.
- Kickflip is calculated at the maximum 1.95% rate. The vendor advertises "1.95% to 0% per custom product sold," and its pricing page shows a slider with volume bands at 250K-499K, 500K-749K, and 750K-999K in monthly customized sales. The actual breakpoints render in JavaScript and could not be retrieved, so the rate steps are unconfirmed. Treat $2,399 as a ceiling, not a quote. White-label removal costs another $49/month and the quote-request feature another $99/month.
- Zepto's 100 and 500 rows sit exactly on a plan ceiling. Starter includes 100 custom orders per month, Pro includes 500. One order over and you move up a tier, so budget for Basic at $19.99 or Unlimited at $49.99.
- Zakeke is capped by published products, not orders. The table assumes 10 or fewer customizable products at 100 items and 100 or fewer at 2,000. Exceed the product count and a higher plan is forced regardless of volume. At 500 items, Starter and Grow happen to come to exactly the same $639.90.
- Inkybay's 2,000 row sits exactly on the Professional ceiling, described on the listing as "2000 Product / Order p/m," which leaves unclear whether products and orders are each capped at 2,000 or share one budget. If shared, Unlimited at $249.99 applies.
- Easify and Zepto do not generate production files. Do not read the two cheapest rows as winners without reading the next section.
At 100 items a month the whole field fits inside a $175 spread. At 2,000, Easify at $19.99 and Kickflip at up to $2,399 are roughly 120 times apart. Some of that gap buys 3D, AR, and print automation. Some of it buys nothing you need.
The trap: every app counts a different thing
This is where merchants most often mis-forecast. All seven use the word "limit." None of them are measuring the same object.
| App | What the plan ceiling actually counts |
|---|---|
| Zakeke - Customizer 2D & 3D | Published products: 10, 50, or 100 |
| Kickflip | Nothing. Products, page views, and storage are unlimited; cost scales with a share of customized revenue |
| Customily Product Personalizer | Unique personalized items sold per month, which sets the fee tier |
| Teeinblue Product Personalizer | Order items per month, which sets the fee tier; stores, options, and products are unlimited |
| Zepto Product Personalizer | Two ceilings at once: personalizable products and custom orders per month |
| Inkybay - Product Personalizer | Three units at once: products, orders per month, and storage in GB |
| Easify Custom Product Options | Neither orders nor products. Only the feature set and file upload allowance |
A store with 40 SKUs doing 3,000 orders a month and a store with 400 SKUs doing 200 orders a month land on completely different plans, and the ranking flips between them.
One detail in the per-item camp matters more than the headline rates. Customily's pricing FAQ states that fees apply per unique personalized item sold, not per order or per quantity: five identical personalizations bought at quantity five is one fee, because one print file is produced. Teeinblue says the same, adds that regenerating a design does not trigger a new charge, and does not count Bogus Gateway test orders. If your customers buy in bulk with one design each, such as team or corporate orders, your real bill lands well below the table.
Teeinblue's pricing page does introduce one ambiguity: the tier headings read "orders" while the rate reads "per item," and the FAQ says a fee is charged per order item. We describe it that way, and suggest confirming the boundary with the vendor if you sit near a tier edge.
The apps
Zakeke - Customizer 2D & 3D

Source: Shopify App Store listing, captured September 3, 2026.
Formerly listed as Zakeke Interactive Product Designer. Starter is $69.90/month with a 1.9% transaction fee on products sold through Zakeke; Grow is $129.90/month at 1.7%; Scale is $299.90/month at 1.5%. The Free tier is development stores only. Rating is 4.7 from 95 reviews, with no Built for Shopify badge.
It is the only app here with a 3D configurator, AR viewer, and virtual try-on, and the only one whose listing confirms Shopify POS support. It also generates print-ready files automatically, as Kickflip, Customily, Teeinblue, and Inkybay do. Its weak point is the catalog ceiling, the tightest in this group: 10 published products on Starter, 100 on Scale, so a store with hundreds of customizable SKUs can outgrow the top plan. The vendor has stated in a review reply that transaction fees cap at $5,000/month, but that figure could not be re-confirmed on any current pricing page, so treat it as unverified. Zakeke is developed by Futurenext Srl in Foggia, Italy.
Kickflip product configurators

Source: Shopify App Store listing, captured September 3, 2026.
Formerly MyCustomizer, which is why the URL still says so. One plan at $59/month plus 1.95% to 0% per custom product sold, with unlimited products, page views, and storage. Rating is 4.6 from 136 reviews. English only. Developed in Québec, Canada.
Its multi-component builder is the strongest in the group for products assembled from parts, and it offers API access, print-ready files, and Shopify Functions integration. The unlimited catalog is a real differentiator against Zakeke.
Two things to weigh. First, pricing history: two 1-star reviews, from December 2025 and February 2026, object specifically to a plan change, and a 5-star review from August 2026 names cost as its only complaint. Second, support runs 9 AM to 5 PM Eastern Time, Monday to Friday, per the vendor's own review replies. A 2024 review also reported Shopify Markets percentage price adjustments being ignored.
Customily Product Personalizer

Source: Shopify App Store listing, captured September 3, 2026.
$49/month per platform plus a per-item fee that steps down: $1.00 for the first 100 items, $0.50 from 101 to 1,000, $0.25 from 1,001 to 10,000, and $0.10 above that. Tiers reset at the start of each calendar month. Rating is 4.8 from 249 reviews. Free trial is 9 days, the shortest here.
Customily is headquartered in St. Louis, MO, one of only two genuinely US-based vendors here. It offers one of the widest print-on-demand connector lists in this group, automatic multi-format print files, Canva and PSD import, and niche generators such as street maps, calendars, and FaceCut.
The cost profile works against small stores: at 100 items a month you pay $149, against $9.99 for Zepto. Multiple 1-star reviews describe the interface as clunky and hard to learn, and one from December 2024 objects directly to paying both a subscription and a per-transaction fee.
Teeinblue Product Personalizer

Source: Shopify App Store listing, captured September 3, 2026.
Same $49/month base, different fee curve: the first 100 orders each month carry no transaction fee, then $0.40 per item to 1,000, $0.20 to 10,000, and $0.10 above. That first-100-free band is why two apps with an identical subscription price diverge to $609 versus $849 at 2,000 items.
Rating is 4.9 from 347 reviews. It generates production files automatically, connects directly to a long list of print partners, and bills one subscription across multiple Shopify stores under one account, with fee tiers calculated on the combined order count.
Costs beyond money: English only, no Built for Shopify badge, and a setup learning curve that even enthusiastic reviewers mention. The vendor is based in Singapore, and US-hours live support availability is not stated on the listing or pricing page.
Zepto Product Personalizer

Source: Shopify App Store listing, captured September 3, 2026.
Always write the full name; "Product Personalizer" alone is ambiguous in this category.
Four flat plans: Starter $9.99 (50 products, 100 custom orders per month), Basic $19.99 (200/300), Pro $29.99 (500/500), Unlimited $49.99. No transaction fee at any tier. It holds a Built for Shopify badge and 4.9 from 1,330 reviews, and it has been on the App Store since 2016, longer than anything else here. It covers text and monogram inputs, custom fonts, swatches, upload fields, conditional logic, dynamic pricing via Shopify Functions cart transforms, and a build-your-own-product flow, with 24/7 human live chat.
What it does not advertise is production file generation, and its direct print-on-demand connections are limited to Printful, Gelato, and ShineOn. The listing simply does not mention print-ready output, so we treat it as not stated rather than confirmed absent. An August 2026 review from a three-year user reports the app being "a little laggy" and the image upload box drifting out of its configured position.
Inkybay - Product Personalizer

Source: Shopify App Store listing, captured September 3, 2026.
Starter $19.99 (10 products, 30 orders per month, 5 GB, 2 print sides), Advance $49.99 (100 products, 200 orders), Professional $99.99, Unlimited $249.99. The 21-day trial is the longest here. Rating is 4.5 from 160 reviews, the lowest in this group. Developed by ParseLab, LLC in Newark, DE, the other US-based vendor.
Inkybay is built for print shops rather than gift sellers: DTF, screen print, DTG, sublimation, and embroidery are named explicitly, output includes PDF, SVG, JPG, PNG, and EPS, custom-size dynamic pricing handles area-based quoting, and a quote-to-order flow is included where Kickflip charges $99/month for it.
One operational caveat. A March 2026 review from a high-volume US print shop reported being unable to download large customer uploads from the back end. The vendor's reply confirmed that print-ready conversion of "large or complex files can take a maximum of 10-15 minutes," because customer files are vectorized server-side. Automatic production files are not instant.
Easify Custom Product Options

Source: Shopify App Store listing, captured September 3, 2026.
Free Forever ($0, unlimited option sets, products, and orders, no live preview), Pro $9.99, Premium $19.99, Enterprise $99.99, each marked the same price for all Shopify plans. It carries a Built for Shopify badge and 4.9 from 2,973 reviews, the largest review base here.
Premium is the row that matters: it includes a feature listed as "Product Personalizer Live Preview," plus uploads of 20 files at 100MB each, the largest allowance in this comparison. No order cap, no transaction fee. That is how a store doing 2,000 personalized items a month pays $19.99.
The caveat has to travel with that number. Easify's listing does not claim production file generation, and it has no direct print-on-demand connections, no 3D, and no AR. If your workflow ends when the customer sees the preview and your team lays out the file, Easify is strong value. If it depends on a print file reaching a fulfillment partner automatically, Easify is not competing with Customily and Teeinblue at all, and comparing their prices compares different products.
One more point applies to all seven but was reported most concretely here. A September 2026 1-star review from a Canadian store describes pricing conflicts when Easify options ran alongside Shopify native options, and reports that uninstalling did not undo the work: dozens of options had to be rebuilt by hand in Shopify. Exit cost in this category can equal or exceed setup cost.
Where each model fits
A flat monthly plan fits stores that need preview and dynamic pricing but fulfill in-house, stores whose volume swings hard in Q4 and who need a predictable line item, and stores whose average order value is high enough that a percentage fee would hurt. Zepto and Easify are the Built for Shopify options; Inkybay is the pick if you run an actual print shop and need vector output and quoting. It does not fit you if automatic production files are load-bearing: Zepto and Easify do not advertise them, and that single gap outweighs the price difference for a print-on-demand operation.
A per-item fee fits print-on-demand and personalized-gift sellers at low to mid average order value who need print files generated and pushed to a fulfillment partner. Teeinblue is the cheaper of the two from roughly 100 to 1,000 items a month because of the free first hundred. Customily is the choice if you want US-based support, a broad print-on-demand connector list, or its map, calendar, and face-cutout generators. It does not fit stores under about 100 personalized items a month, where the base plus $1.00 per item on Customily runs many times a flat plan for the same preview.
A percentage of sales fits narrow catalogs of high-consideration configurable goods where the configurator itself sells the product: Zakeke for 3D, AR, or virtual try-on, Kickflip for many-component assemblies with unlimited SKUs and API access. It does not fit high-volume, low-margin work. At $200 average order value a 1.9% cut is $3.80 per item, against the $0.25 Customily charges in its 1,001 to 10,000 item band. Above roughly $150 average order value, the percentage models get structurally hard to justify.
Before you install
Run the arithmetic with your own numbers: last quarter's actual customized item count, your real average selling price on those items, and how many distinct SKUs need a configurator. The third input is the one people forget, and it is what pushes Zakeke users onto higher plans regardless of order volume. Then check the counting unit on the plan you are about to buy, not the price. Products, orders, views, unique designs, and gigabytes are all called "limits" here, and they are not interchangeable.
Research and pricing verification date: September 2, 2026.
Sources
- Shopify Help Center: Add variants
- Shopify.dev: Product template and line item properties
- Shopify.dev: Cart template
- Shopify Help Center: File uploads
- Shopify App Store listings for all seven apps,
enlocale, retrieved September 2, 2026 - Customily pricing, Teeinblue pricing, Kickflip pricing
Shopify Flow adds and removes product tags for free on every paid plan, but its Get product data action returns at most 100 products per run, so backfilling an existing catalog becomes a scheduled loop. Flow also has no generic Product updated trigger, which means it structurally cannot re-tag a product after you edit its type, vendor, or price. Shopify Magic suggests a product category and fills category metafields, but product tag generation is not on its published feature list. The six apps compared here meter completely different units: Leap Auto Tags counts every tag added and every tag removed as one credit against 2,000 per month at $8, FilterTag meters 500 to 50,000 generated tags per month at $9 to $59, TAGit AI works out to 3 to 9 cents per generated tag, and Helium charges $9.99 one-time per 100 products. Mechanic and Matrixify charge flat fees of $16 to $199 and $20 to $200 with no per-tag metering at all. Check the denominator before you check the price. Researched September 3, 2026.