Skip to main content
App comparisons

Shopify's Bundles App and Its Subscriptions App Do Not Work Together

A build-your-own subscription box cannot be assembled from Shopify's two free first-party apps — the documentation says so explicitly. Here is what each paid route costs, where the same $20,000/month box runs $100 on one app and about $862 on another. Verified September 3, 2026.

AIEC App Lab AI Editorial TeamPublished Updated Read 13 min#App comparisons#Shopify blog operations

What you will learn

On this pageContentsCloseOpen

The plan looks obvious. Shopify ships a free Bundles app and a free Subscriptions app. Build a bundle, attach a selling plan, and you have a subscription box for $0.

It does not work, and Shopify says so in two places. The Help Center: "Bundles aren't compatible with the Shopify Subscriptions app." And shopify.dev, more broadly: "Bundles can't be sold with selling plans, such as subscriptions, pre-orders, and try-before-you-buy." That second sentence matters more than the first, because it applies to the bundles API itself — not just the first-party app — so third-party bundle apps built on it inherit the same wall.

There is a second blocker underneath it. The Help Center also states that "The Shopify Bundles app doesn't support mix-and-match bundles." Fixed bundles and multipacks only. A box where the customer picks the contents is outside its scope regardless of the subscription question.

So a build-your-own-box subscription requires paid apps. This article covers which ones, in what combination, and what the effective monthly cost is at $5,000, $20,000, and $50,000 in monthly subscription revenue — because the vendors meter on four different units and the spread at the same revenue is roughly 8x.

All pricing, ratings, and plan names were verified on the Shopify App Store at the en locale on September 3, 2026, in USD.

What the native apps actually do

Top of the Shopify App Store listing page for Shopify Subscriptions

Source: Shopify App Store (Shopify Subscriptions), retrieved September 3, 2026

Shopify Subscriptions is free and genuinely capable of recurring billing: weekly, monthly, or yearly auto-billed plans, customer-facing resume, skip, and cancel, discounts, POS support, and import/export of existing subscription contracts. It rates 3.7 across 763 reviews.

What its customer portal does not include is swapping box contents. The Help Center's list of subscriber actions is resume, skip, cancel, payment method, and shipping address. Nothing about editing what's in the box. That absence is visible in the listing metadata too: the subscription-type tags on Shopify Subscriptions are only Digital products and Physical products, while Recharge, Appstle, Seal, and PayWhirl all carry a Subscription boxes tag.

Top of the Shopify App Store listing page for Shopify Bundles

Source: Shopify App Store (Shopify Bundles), retrieved September 3, 2026

Shopify Bundles is free on all plans and syncs component inventory in real time, which is the thing merchants most often build badly by hand. It rates 2.8 across 543 reviews, the lowest here, and the recurring complaints in its one-star reviews are its hard limits: 3 options and 100 total variants per bundle, 30 components for fixed bundles, 150 for dynamic. Component images and data do not carry over to the bundle.

So the honest native answer:

  • Fixed-contents box, same every month? Shopify Subscriptions alone, $0. Register the box as a single product and attach a selling plan. You manage inventory at the box level, not the component level.
  • A few preset boxes, no subscription? Shopify Bundles, $0, within the variant limits.
  • Customer picks the contents, billed recurring? Not possible natively.

The four billing denominators

AppMetered onTransaction feePrice to unlock build-a-box
Recharge Subscriptions AppMonthly fee + % of GMV + per-transaction1.34–1.49% + $0.19$499/month (Plus)
Appstle℠ Subscriptions AppMonthly subscription revenue band0%$30/month (Business)
Seal Subscriptions AppNumber of active subscriptions0%Needs a second app
PayWhirl SubscriptionsMonthly fee + % processed0.75%–3%Not stated on the listing — see note
BundleSuite Bundle BuilderMonthly bundle sales0%$12/month
Easy Bundles: Bundle BuilderMonthly bundle sales0%$49/month

A note on PayWhirl. Its App Store listing does not mention build-a-box on any plan; the only bundle signals are a "Product bundles" subscription-type tag and a "Bundling & Discount" entry in Works with. PayWhirl's own documentation describes a build-your-own-box assembled from chained upsell widgets rather than a dedicated box builder, and does not state which plan it requires. We could not confirm the tier — ask PayWhirl before you price around it. The PayWhirl rows below assume the feature is available, so treat them as an upper bound on what you would save, not a quote.

The two bundle builders cannot bill recurring on their own. They supply the box-building interface; a subscription app still has to sit underneath. That is the single most common misreading of this category — "build a box app" and "subscription box app" are not the same product.

Note also what "monthly bundle sales" means for this specific use case. On a BYOB box store, essentially all revenue is bundle revenue, so you hit those tiers immediately. Easy Bundles' Scale plan at $99/month covers $10,000/month in bundle sales; BundleSuite's Professional at $49/month covers the same $10,000. A $20,000/month box is off the published price list for both.

What it actually costs

Assuming all revenue is recurring, and one transaction per subscriber per month:

At $5,000/month, 250 subscribers

SetupMathMonthly% of GMV
Appstle Business$30 flat (covers to $15k)$300.60%
Seal RISING STAR + Easy Bundles Growth$9.95 + $49$58.951.18%
Recharge Plus$499 + 1.34% ($67) + $0.19 × 250 ($47.50)$613.5012.27%

At $20,000/month, 500 subscribers

SetupMathMonthly% of GMV
Appstle Business Premium$100 flat$1000.50%
Seal LEGEND + a bundle builder$24.95 + $99 or more$124+0.62%+
PayWhirl SCALE$149 + 0.75% ($150)$2991.50%
Recharge Plus$499 + 1.34% ($268) + $0.19 × 500 ($95)$8624.31%

At $50,000/month, 1,000 subscribers

SetupMathMonthly% of GMV
Appstle Business Premium$100 flat (covers to $100k)$1000.20%
PayWhirl SCALE$149 + 0.75% ($375)$5241.05%
Recharge Plus$499 + 1.34% ($670) + $190$1,3592.72%

Roughly 8.6x between the cheapest and most expensive build-a-box-capable setup at $20,000/month. That gap is not a feature gap — it is a gap in how each vendor decided to charge.

Appstle℠ Subscriptions App

Top of the Shopify App Store listing page for Appstle Subscriptions App

Source: Shopify App Store (Appstle℠ Subscriptions App), retrieved September 3, 2026

5.0 across 8,423 reviews, Built for Shopify, and the cost leader for this use case by a wide margin. Build-a-Box is included from the Business plan at $30/month (covering up to $15,000/month in subscription revenue), and Business Premium at $100/month covers up to $100,000/month. Transaction fee is 0% on every tier, so revenue growth only moves you between flat bands.

One thing to verify before you commit: customer-facing Product Swap — letting a subscriber change what's in the next box themselves — is a Business Premium ($100) feature, not a Business ($30) one. If self-serve swapping is core to your box, price at $100, not $30.

Seal Subscriptions App

Top of the Shopify App Store listing page for Seal Subscriptions App

Source: Shopify App Store (Seal Subscriptions App), retrieved September 3, 2026

4.9 across 3,012 reviews, Built for Shopify, and the only app here metered on subscriber count rather than revenue — with unlimited revenue and 0% transaction fee on every plan. Free up to 50 subscriptions, then $9.95 for 250, $24.95 for 500.

That denominator makes Seal structurally cheapest for high-priced boxes with moderate subscriber counts. Two hundred subscribers at $80 is $16,000/month for $9.95 in app fees.

The catch is that Seal does not build the box itself. Its own documentation walks you through pairing it with Bundler - Product Bundles: create a Mix & Match bundle there, then enable the Seal Subscriptions integration inside Bundler. Two vendors, two bills, two support queues — which is exactly the tradeoff for the low fee.

PayWhirl Subscriptions

Top of the Shopify App Store listing page for PayWhirl Subscriptions

Source: Shopify App Store (PayWhirl Subscriptions), retrieved September 3, 2026

4.8 across 184 reviews, Built for Shopify, free to install, and the only app in this comparison that advertises US-based phone support alongside chat and email, plus expert installation and migration from Recharge, Appstle, Bold, and Seal.

Every paid plan carries a percentage fee, and the free tier does too once you pass a threshold: the first $5,000 processed is 0%, then 3% with no monthly fee — then PRO at $9 + 2%, TRACTION at $29 + 1.5%, SCALE at $149 + 0.75%. Starting free is genuinely free of fixed cost, but the fee scales with you, so plan the tier upgrades into your model rather than discovering them.

Recharge Subscriptions App

Top of the Shopify App Store listing page for Recharge Subscriptions App

Source: Shopify App Store (Recharge Subscriptions App), retrieved September 3, 2026

4.8 across 2,972 reviews, one of the longest-established subscription platforms on Shopify, with the broadest set of named US-stack integrations here — Klaviyo, Attentive, Gorgias, Avalara, Stripe, Triple Whale — plus a 60-day free trial.

The decisive fact for a BYOB box is that customizable bundles are a Plus-plan feature at $499/month. On the Starter plan at $99/month, Recharge's own pricing comparison shows Customizable Bundles, Preset Bundles, Bundles SDK, and Bundles API all unavailable. "Use Recharge for build-a-box" means $499/month before transaction fees.

Three further constraints worth knowing before a migration: Recharge's fixed-price customizable bundles are incompatible with the Shop app, Recharge Cart, Checkout Cross-Sell, local delivery, and partial order fulfillment; bundles are processed as full component price plus a 100% discount, so your Shopify gross sales and discount reports need adjusting; and a bundle collection is capped at 250 products.

The two bundle builders

Top of the Shopify App Store listing page for BundleSuite Bundle Builder

Source: Shopify App Store (BundleSuite Bundle Builder), retrieved September 3, 2026

BundleSuite Bundle Builder rates 5.0 across 484 reviews with Built for Shopify, starting at $12/month, and is strong on builder UI and templates. Its listing and documentation do not state whether it integrates with a subscription app — so if the box must renew, confirm compatibility with the vendor before you build anything on it.

Top of the Shopify App Store listing page for Easy Bundles: Bundle Builder

Source: Shopify App Store (Easy Bundles: Bundle Builder), retrieved September 3, 2026

Easy Bundles: Bundle Builder rates 4.9 across 1,176 reviews, also Built for Shopify, and explicitly claims compatibility with "All subscription apps," with bundle subscriptions unlocking at the Growth plan, $49/month. Third-party sources dispute the Recharge case specifically, and the vendor's help desk could not be verified directly, so treat Recharge compatibility as unconfirmed and ask before purchasing.

Prerequisites nobody mentions until you're stuck

Two platform-level requirements apply regardless of which app you pick.

Gateway. Subscriptions on Shopify require Shopify Payments, PayPal Express, Authorize.net, Adyen, or Stripe. Local payment methods will not process them, and draft orders cannot carry subscriptions. Selling subscriptions through Shopify POS specifically requires Shopify Payments.

Uninstall. When you remove a subscription app, everything except the subscription contracts themselves and customer payment information is deleted after 48 hours. Export before you switch, not after.

Choosing

  • Fixed contents, no customization — Shopify Subscriptions, $0. Do not buy an app you do not need.
  • $5k–$100k/month, want one app and the lowest cost — Appstle, Business at $30 or Business Premium at $100. Confirm which tier gives your subscribers self-serve Product Swap.
  • High box price, moderate subscriber count — Seal plus a bundle builder. Metered on subscriber count, so a $16,000/month box can run under $10 in subscription app fees.
  • Want US phone support and no fixed cost to start — PayWhirl, budgeting for the percentage fee as you grow, and confirming with the vendor first that its build-your-own-box flow covers your case and on which plan.
  • $50k+/month, and you need churn tooling, SMS, and deep marketing-stack integration — Recharge Plus at $499/month, with the Shop app and local delivery incompatibilities understood in advance.
  • Already have a subscription app, only need a better box UI — Easy Bundles at $49/month, after confirming compatibility with your specific subscription app.
  • On Shopify Plus and want to build it yourself — the Bundles APIs and Cart Transform Function API allow custom mix-and-match, but the selling-plan incompatibility does not go away. Recurring billing still has to live on the subscription side.

The thing to take away is that this category's price differences do not track its feature differences. Two apps that both let a customer fill a box can differ by an order of magnitude at the same revenue, purely because one chose a flat band and the other chose a percentage. Work out your number at your actual monthly recurring revenue before you read another feature list.

Sources

RelatedAuto-tagging Shopify products: where Shopify Flow structurally stops, and which apps fill the gap

Shopify Flow adds and removes product tags for free on every paid plan, but its Get product data action returns at most 100 products per run, so backfilling an existing catalog becomes a scheduled loop. Flow also has no generic Product updated trigger, which means it structurally cannot re-tag a product after you edit its type, vendor, or price. Shopify Magic suggests a product category and fills category metafields, but product tag generation is not on its published feature list. The six apps compared here meter completely different units: Leap Auto Tags counts every tag added and every tag removed as one credit against 2,000 per month at $8, FilterTag meters 500 to 50,000 generated tags per month at $9 to $59, TAGit AI works out to 3 to 9 cents per generated tag, and Helium charges $9.99 one-time per 100 products. Mechanic and Matrixify charge flat fees of $16 to $199 and $20 to $200 with no per-tag metering at all. Check the denominator before you check the price. Researched September 3, 2026.