Skip to main content
App comparisons

Uber Direct Is Shopify's First Native Courier Option — It's Plus-Only, and a July 2026 Review Says It Still Only Works in France

Shopify's native local delivery has no courier network behind it at all — every order is marked ready and marked delivered by a human, by hand. Uber Direct, promoted by Uber and Shopify as a US, Canada, and France launch on December 10, 2025, is the first native fix, and it requires Shopify Plus. A July 10, 2026 App Store review says the rollout still only works in France. Nash and Shipday reach the same courier networks — Uber, Roadie, DoorDash Drive — without a Plus wall, and Shopify's own DoorDash listing turns out to be a different product: a marketplace channel, not checkout delivery. Researched September 4, 2026.

AIEC App Lab AI Editorial TeamPublished Updated Read 15 min#App comparisons#Shopify blog operations

What you will learn

On this pageContentsCloseOpen

Shopify's native local delivery has a courier problem: there isn't one. Set it up, and Shopify hands you a shipping option at checkout and an order tag. Getting the package to the door is entirely on you.

That gap is old news to anyone who has run local delivery on Shopify. What changed is that Shopify now has a first-party answer to it — Uber Direct, a same-day courier network wired directly into Shopify checkout and POS. It launched with real fanfare in December 2025. It also requires Shopify Plus, and one of the reviews on its own listing says the regional rollout doesn't match the press release.

Below: what native local delivery actually hands off to a human, what Uber Direct changes and where it stops, and three apps — two of which reach the same courier networks without a Plus requirement — plus one Shopify listing that looks like a competitor and isn't. Research date: September 4, 2026. All prices are USD from the English Shopify App Store.

The short version

  • Shopify's native local delivery has three order statuses — Unfulfilled, Ready for delivery, Delivered — and every transition is a manual click in the admin. No courier is dispatched by Shopify at any point.
  • Uber Direct is the first app to put a real courier network inside Shopify's own checkout and POS. Its own listing states it is available only to merchants on the Shopify Plus plan, and that regional availability varies.
  • Among the reviews visible on its listing, a one-star review dated July 10, 2026 states the app is not available to merchants anywhere except France, at odds with the US/Canada/France launch Uber announced on December 10, 2025.
  • Nash: All-in-One Fulfillment reaches Uber, Roadie, UPS, USPS, and Grubhub through its own checkout widget, with no Plus requirement stated and no published self-serve pricing — every plan is quote-based.
  • Shipday : Delivery + Pickup dispatches to DoorDash Drive, Roadie, Uber, and Relay, but its own plan comparison table lists "Access to 3rd party delivery services" as an Elite-tier feature at $99/month — narrower than the top-of-listing bullet that advertises instant DoorDash and Uber access without naming a plan.
  • The Shopify App Store listing simply named DoorDash is not a delivery option for your own checkout at all. It adds your store as a listing inside DoorDash's own consumer app — a different product with a different business model.

What native local delivery hands you, and what it doesn't

Shopify's local delivery fulfillment flow is short by design. An order comes in as Unfulfilled. You click Prepare delivery, pick and pack, and click Mark as ready for delivery. When the package is actually handed over, you click Mark as delivered. That's the entire native workflow — three admin clicks per order, done by a person with Shopify admin access.

Nothing in that flow talks to a courier. There's no dispatch call, no driver assignment, no live GPS ping. The Out for delivery and Delivered notification templates that live in Settings > Notifications never fire for local delivery orders, because Shopify's help documentation states they're triggered by carrier tracking events, and local delivery generates none. The only automatic message a customer gets is the confirmation sent the moment you click Mark as delivered — which means if a staff member forgets that click, the customer hears nothing.

We covered the rest of native local delivery's boundaries — the 100-mile radius cap, the block on Apple Pay and Google Pay at checkout, the missing date and time picker — in a separate piece on local delivery and pickup limits. This article is about a narrower, separate question: who actually drives the package, and what changed when Shopify tried to answer that itself.

Uber Direct: the first native courier network on Shopify

Top of the Shopify App Store listing page for Uber Direct

Source: Shopify App Store (Uber Direct), retrieved September 4, 2026

Uber Direct's own App Store listing describes it plainly: local delivery through online checkout and POS, powered by Uber's driver network, with express, same-day, and scheduled options. Merchants choose whether to absorb the delivery fee or pass it to the customer. It integrates with Shopify POS so retail staff can request an Uber pickup from an in-store order.

Three facts matter more than the feature list.

It requires Shopify Plus. The listing's own requirements line states the app is available to merchants on the Shopify Plus plan, and that it requires a separate Uber Direct account.

There is no app subscription — Uber bills you directly. The install is free, with no setup fee. Every delivery is billed through your Uber Direct account, priced by distance, time, and location, and those charges appear separately from your Shopify invoice rather than on it.

The regional rollout and the marketing don't agree, according to the app's own reviews. Uber's December 10, 2025 announcement named the US, Canada, and France as the launch markets, with more regions to follow. The app's Shopify listing shows a 2.9-star rating from six reviews as of this research date, and half of those six reviews are one star. Among the individual reviews visible on the listing, one dated July 10, 2026 states the app is not available to merchants anywhere except France and advises US merchants not to bother installing it. Two other reviews, from US-based merchants in December 2025 and June 2026, describe account registration and onboarding friction rather than outright unavailability — Uber Direct's support replied to both within days. Taken together, the visible review history reads like a staged rollout that hadn't caught up with its own press release for at least some US merchants, as late as mid-2026.

The app's listing was actually published on the Shopify App Store on April 1, 2025, months before the December marketing push — worth knowing if you assumed this was a brand-new build rather than a wider promotion of an app that had already been live.

None of that erases what the app does when it works: it's the only option in this category that puts courier delivery directly in Shopify's checkout and lets a customer pick express, same-day, or scheduled Uber delivery without leaving your store. It's also the only one gated to Plus.

Below Plus, or outside the three launch countries: Nash and Shipday

Neither of the next two apps states a Shopify Plus requirement, and both reach real courier networks rather than just scheduling a pickup window for your own staff.

Nash: All-in-One Fulfillment

Top of the Shopify App Store listing page for Nash: All-in-One Fulfillment

Source: Shopify App Store (Nash: All-in-One Fulfillment), retrieved September 4, 2026

Nash's listing describes direct access to couriers including Uber, Roadie, and UPS, plus USPS and Grubhub, combined with in-store pickup and Shopify's own shipping labels in one app. Its feature list includes what it calls the Nash Cart + Checkout Experience — a checkout-level delivery choice, similar in shape to what Uber Direct offers, but through a third-party integration rather than a Shopify-built one.

Pricing is not published. The plan page reads "Contact Sales for pricing and onboarding," with a note that no billing occurs unless you approve a paid plan. That's a real gap if you're trying to budget before a sales call — every other app in this comparison publishes at least an entry price.

Nash has 18 reviews at a 3.6-star average as of this research date. The reviews split cleanly by what they're describing: an April 2026 one-star review describes the app defaulting to delivery instead of pickup and customers being charged without a refund when a delivery is canceled before a driver is assigned. Two five-star reviews, from August 2025 and December 2024, describe a smooth Uber delivery setup and praise the customizable tracking page. Nash's listing has been live since July 31, 2023, which makes it the most established app in this comparison by tenure, but the review count is small enough that any single operational complaint carries real weight.

Shipday : Delivery + Pickup

Top of the Shopify App Store listing page for Shipday : Delivery + Pickup

Source: Shopify App Store (Shipday : Delivery + Pickup), retrieved September 4, 2026

Shipday positions itself for restaurants, meal-prep, bakeries, florists, and grocers, and its App Store listing states its partner network includes DoorDash Drive, Relay, Roadie, and Uber, alongside its own driver-dispatch tooling and route optimization.

Pricing has four published tiers. Starter is free for one dispatcher account, up to 300 orders a month, and 10 driver accounts, with a $0.10 per-order fee past 300. Professional is $39/month, adds unlimited paid orders, SMS/WhatsApp notifications, route optimization, and API/webhook access, and includes a 30-day free trial. Elite is $99/month and adds a custom branded order form, barcode scanning, and — this is the detail worth reading twice — "Access to 3rd party delivery services" and refund support for third-party deliveries, both listed as Elite-tier features.

That last line matters because it sits underneath a general feature bullet, higher up on the same listing page, that promises "Instant Access to DoorDash and Uber for Delivery (US & Canada)" without naming which plan it applies to. Read only the top of the listing and you could reasonably assume the free or $39 Professional tier gets you into DoorDash Drive and Uber's networks. Read the actual plan comparison table further down, and third-party courier access — plus the refund handling that goes with it — is scoped specifically to the $99/month Elite plan. Confirm this directly with Shipday's own pricing page before you commit to a tier based on the top-line marketing copy alone.

Shipday has 7 reviews at a 3.5-star average as of this research date — the smallest review base of the three apps compared here, worth weighing accordingly.

Not the same category: Shopify's own DoorDash listing

If you search the Shopify App Store for same-day delivery apps, DoorDash will surface, and it is easy to assume it does the same job as Uber Direct — deliver a checkout order through DoorDash's driver network. It doesn't.

Top of the Shopify App Store listing page for DoorDash

Source: Shopify App Store (DoorDash), retrieved September 4, 2026

The listing describes something structurally different: adding DoorDash as a Shopify sales channel. Your store gets listed inside DoorDash's own consumer app, reaching what the listing describes as DoorDash's 56 million monthly active users, and orders placed through that channel are picked up from your physical location by a Dasher for delivery. It's a new place to sell, managed from Shopify — not a delivery method attached to orders placed on your own storefront.

The distinction shows up in a review, too. An August 24, 2026 one-star review describes discovering only after installing and going through onboarding that DoorDash requires orders to be ready within 15 minutes — an operational constraint that changes what kind of store can realistically use the channel at all, and one the reviewer says wasn't disclosed before signup. The app itself was launched on the Shopify App Store on May 14, 2026, making it the newest listing in this comparison, and pricing is described only as "DoorDash standard fees and commissions vary, depending on features selected by the merchant" — no flat rate is published.

If what you actually want is DoorDash's courier network delivering orders placed on your own Shopify checkout — the equivalent of what Uber Direct does for Uber — this app is not that. Nash and Shipday are the paths that reach DoorDash Drive and comparable networks from inside your own storefront; the DoorDash app itself is a sales channel.

Four options, side by side

Uber DirectNashShipdayDoorDash (Shopify listing)
What it actually isNative courier delivery in checkout & POSMulti-courier dispatch + checkout widgetDispatch & route app with courier partnersMarketplace sales channel
Shopify Plus requiredYes, stated in listingNot statedNot statedNot stated
PricingFree to install; pay-per-delivery via Uber, billed separatelyContact Sales; no published tiersFree (300 orders/mo) to $394/monthFree to install; DoorDash fees/commissions vary
Third-party couriers reachedUber only (native)Uber, Roadie, UPS, USPS, GrubhubDoorDash Drive, Roadie, Uber, Relay (gated to $99/mo tier)N/A — not a delivery method for your own checkout
Rating / reviews2.9 / 63.6 / 183.5 / 73.7 / 4
Listing launchedApril 1, 2025July 31, 2023Not stated in listingMay 14, 2026

Ratings, review counts, and pricing were read from the Shopify App Store on September 4, 2026, and change over time — recheck each listing before deciding.

How to choose

You're on Shopify Plus, in the US, Canada, or France, and want delivery choices inside checkout itself. Uber Direct is purpose-built for this and it's free to install — but given the one-star reviews as recent as July 2026, confirm with Uber Direct's own support, in writing, that your specific country and city are actually live before you promise same-day delivery to customers.

You're not on Plus, or Uber Direct isn't live in your region yet. Nash reaches Uber and Roadie without a Plus wall, at the cost of an undisclosed, sales-call-gated price. Budget time for that call before you assume it's a cheap fix.

You run a restaurant, bakery, florist, or grocer with your own delivery volume and want route optimization and a driver app, not just a courier connector. Shipday's Starter plan is free up to 300 orders a month. If a live connection to DoorDash Drive or Uber is the actual reason you're evaluating Shipday, budget for the $99/month Elite plan — not the free or $39 tier the top of the listing implies.

You want new order volume, not a delivery method for orders you already have. The DoorDash Shopify listing is a distribution channel, not a delivery mechanism. Read the 15-minute order-ready requirement before installing, and treat it as a separate sales channel decision, not a same-day-delivery decision.

You just want to keep doing local delivery with your own staff or an informal courier arrangement. Native local delivery, at no extra cost, does that — as long as you accept that every status update is a manual click and nobody gets an automatic "your order is out for delivery" text.

Pre-purchase checklist

  1. Is your store on Shopify Plus? That alone decides whether Uber Direct is even an option.
  2. Has your specific city and country actually gone live on Uber Direct, confirmed directly with support — not assumed from the December 2025 press release?
  3. Do you need the courier connection inside checkout, or is a separate driver-dispatch tool (Shipday) enough?
  4. If evaluating Shipday for its DoorDash Drive or Uber access, have you priced the $99/month Elite tier, not just the top-of-listing feature bullet?
  5. Are you willing to go through a sales call to get a price from Nash before you know what it costs?
  6. Is what you actually want a new sales channel (DoorDash) or a delivery method for your own checkout (everything else here)?
  7. Who is billing the delivery fee — the app, or the courier directly — and does that show up on your Shopify invoice or a separate one?

Wrapping up

Shopify's own local delivery feature was never a courier product — it's an order-status tracker that assumes a human does the driving. Uber Direct is the first attempt to close that gap natively, and it does something none of the third-party apps can: put real courier choice inside Shopify's own checkout and POS. It just does it for Shopify Plus merchants first, in a short list of countries, and the app's own review history as of mid-2026 suggests the rollout is behind the announcement.

Everyone else has two real paths to the same courier networks — Nash and Shipday — plus one Shopify listing, DoorDash, that looks like a third path and isn't. Match the app to the actual job: checkout-embedded delivery, back-office dispatch, or a new place to sell. Pricing, regional availability, and review counts all move; verify each listing again before you commit.

Sources

RelatedShopify Checkout Blocks for Plus: What's Native Now, and What Still Needs an App

Shopify's own free Checkout Blocks app, built on Checkout UI extensions, now covers custom fields, order-value limits, address rules, and custom discounts on the Plus-only checkout page — not just the Thank you and Order status pages. This piece maps exactly what that native tool does, what it still can't do (true one-click post-purchase upsell, AI offer targeting, cross-tool integrations), and where three real App Store apps still fill the gap. Checked against Shopify's own docs and the App Store on September 4, 2026.