Skip to main content
App comparisons

Shopify Has No 'Hide Price Until Login' Switch — But Every Lock App Leaves the Price in /products/handle.js, and Only One Keeps You on the Shop App

Shopify's only native gates are Private mode and a B2B-only restriction for dedicated stores. We checked what six hide-price apps actually lock, where prices still leak, which apps disqualify your store from Shop, and what happens when you uninstall them.

AIEC App Lab AI Editorial TeamPublished Read 19 min#App comparisons#Shopify blog operations

What you will learn

On this pageContentsCloseOpen

If you sell wholesale, honor MAP agreements, or run a dealer-only catalog, sooner or later you type "shopify hide price until login" into Google. The results are almost all written by the app vendors themselves. This article does something different: it starts from what Shopify's own documentation says you can do without an app, then looks at six lock apps that come up when you search the App Store for "hide price," all checked on September 8, 2026, and, importantly, at the three places where "hidden" prices are still visible no matter which app you install.

What Shopify can do natively

Shopify does not have a setting that hides prices from visitors who are not logged in. What it has are three narrower tools, each documented in the Help Center, plus one Liquid object that developers use to build the feature themselves.

Private mode locks the whole store

Restrict access to your online store describes Private mode: every page is hidden and replaced by a password landing page. It is managed under Online Store > Preferences > Store access. There is no partial version. You cannot leave the catalog public and password-protect only the price. And the same Help Center page that lists the requirements for displaying your store in Shop says your store must not be "set to private mode" to appear in the Shop app.

"Restrict access to B2B customers only" exists, but only for dedicated B2B stores

Shopify B2B has been available on Basic, Grow, and Advanced plans since April 2, 2026, with up to three B2B catalogs, company profiles, and payment terms (we covered what the non-Plus B2B plan table leaves out separately). If you run a dedicated B2B store (a separate store used only for wholesale), the same Store access section has a checkbox called Restrict access to B2B customers only. Non-B2B visitors "can't browse your online store and they receive a notification that they aren't registered B2B customers."

The Sign-in and customer accounts in B2B page lists four considerations that matter here. Restricting access "doesn't redirect all visitors to a sign-in page," and Shopify's own wording is that "if you need a full login-wall experience, then you might need a third-party app or custom Liquid development" (the page links to Locksmith by name). Customers buying through the Shop app "might be able to begin checkout without signing in," so Shopify tells dedicated-store merchants to contact Support to confirm checkout login requirements. Prospective customers cannot use company account requests while access is restricted. And if you run a blended store (D2C and B2B in one admin), the store-type comparison table is blunt: "Your online store can't be gated to only B2B customers, because your D2C customers couldn't place orders." Only logged-in B2B customers see B2B catalog prices; everyone else sees the D2C price.

Unlisted status hides the product, not the price

A newer native option is worth knowing even though it does not hide prices. Setting a product's status to Unlisted removes it from internet search, Shopify Catalog (the feed behind agentic storefronts), your sitemap, storefront search, collection pages, and product recommendations. The product page still loads by direct URL, with its price. Unlisted products cannot be published to Shop. The older seo.hidden metafield does less: it keeps the product in collections and on third-party channels. Shopify's visibility comparison table shows the exact differences. This is the mechanism several lock apps use when they advertise "hide from Google."

The Liquid customer object is free, if you have a developer

Every Shopify theme can check whether a visitor is logged in. The customer Liquid object "returns nil" outside of account templates when nobody is signed in, and exposes customer.b2b? and customer.tags when someone is. Wrapping the price and add-to-cart markup in {% if customer %} is the core of what every hide-price app does. Doing it by hand costs nothing per month, but you maintain it across theme updates, and it has the same leaks described below.

One more native detail: showing different theme content to B2B and D2C customers through the theme editor is listed as Shopify Plus only on the store contextualization page, while the B2B store-type page says Advanced and higher with a free theme version 11.0+. The two Help Center pages disagree; check your own admin before relying on either.

Where hidden prices still leak

This is the part vendor blogs skip. Hiding the price in the rendered HTML does not remove it from Shopify.

The Ajax Product API. Shopify's Product API reference documents GET /products/{product-handle}.js, a public endpoint that returns price, price_min, price_max, compare_at_price, and every variant's price for any published product. Lightward, the developer of Locksmith, answers the question directly in its FAQ Can Locksmith lock Shopify's public JSON API for my online store?: "It cannot. To our knowledge, this feature cannot be disabled," adding that the endpoint is "an integral part of the operation of many themes." No other app on this list claims otherwise.

Checkout. A lock on a product page does not stop a purchase. Locksmith's compatibility page explains that the app "can't fully prevent purchases made by bots or resellers — especially when they're using direct-to-checkout links, which bypass the Online Store entirely." A review of Sami B2B Lock,Password Protect dated August 15, 2026 describes the same thing from the merchant side: a locked private collection was purchased by "people with no access," and support then pointed to a separate "checkout lock" feature. Blocking the purchase requires a checkout-level rule (Locksmith calls it Checkout Validation; BSS calls it Checkout locks), which is a different feature from hiding the price.

Other channels and other apps. Locksmith's documentation states it "can only hide products published to the Online Store sales channel" and cannot filter predictive search results, RSS feeds, headless storefronts, or content rendered by other apps. Those limits come from where theme-layer apps run, so assume they apply to every app below unless the vendor documents otherwise.

If leakage through the JSON endpoint is unacceptable, the honest answer is a dedicated B2B store with the native restriction, or a catalog that is not published at all. No theme-layer app closes that hole.

The Shop app rule most vendors don't mention

Shopify's Shop eligibility page has an "App compatibility" requirement: "You're not using any password control or age verification apps such as Advanced Registration, B2B Login Access Management, Login to View Price, and MagicPass Wholesale." It then adds: "The Locksmith password control app is an exception, and is compatible with Shop. If you lock certain products with Locksmith, then your store still displays on Shop, and your locked products remain hidden on your Shop Store."

Two Locksmith reviews show what this looked like before the exception: a May 2024 review quotes the Shop sales profile becoming "unapproved" with the message "Your Online Store is currently using password control or age verification app(s)," and a July 2022 review reports the app causing the merchant's Shop listing to go inactive. Locksmith's docs now say locked products are removed from Shop via a product metafield, but variant-level locks are not, because Shopify has no per-variant channel visibility. Since Shopify auto-adds the Shop channel to stores that meet its merchant guidelines, a lock app that is not the listed exception can cost you Shop app sales you did not know you were making. None of the other five apps in this comparison appear on Shopify's exception list.

Six lock apps, checked on September 8, 2026

All pricing is USD from the App Store listing (?locale=en) or the vendor's official pricing page. Review counts and low-rating themes were read from the listing's review pages the same day.

AppStarting paid priceFree tierTrialPlus-priced tierCheckout-level blockOn Shopify's Shop exception list
Locksmith$12/month suggested (negotiable)No15 days$199/month suggestedCheckout ValidationYes
Sami B2B Lock,Password Protect$9.99/month1 lock15 daysNot listed"Checkout lock" (mentioned in reviews; not on listing)No
BSS B2B Lock, Login & Password$9.99/monthWhole-site lock only7 days$79.99/monthCheckout locksNo
Wholesale Lock Manager: B2B$9.99/monthDev/trial stores only7 daysNot listedBot-checkout protection for free productsNo
Easy Wholesale Lock for B2B$9/monthDev stores only14 daysNot listedNot statedNo
SP Hide Price & Access ControlFreeEverythingNot statedNo

Locksmith

Top of the Shopify App Store listing page for Locksmith

Source: Shopify App Store (Locksmith), retrieved September 8, 2026

Locksmith, by Lightward (Chicago), launched in October 2014, carries the Built for Shopify badge and a 2025 Build Award, and rates 4.7 from 306 reviews. It locks products, collections, pages, variants, prices, or the whole store, and opens locks with "keys": customer tags, email addresses, passcodes, secret links, visitor location, IP address, purchase history, date and time, newsletter signup, or custom Liquid. It can automatically manage the seo.hidden metafield for locked content and adds a Checkout Validation rule (products with a given tag can only be bought by customers with a given tag) that works at checkout rather than in the theme.

Pricing is unusual. The listing shows suggested prices of $12, $29, $99, and $199 per month for Basic, Grow, Advanced, and Plus stores, all with a 15-day trial and no usage fees. Lightward's pricing policy says it suggests "a third of the Shopify plan cost" and invites merchants to propose a different number: "If the price we suggest doesn't feel good, you tell us what price does feel good to you."

The low reviews cluster around uninstalling. Two merchants (September 2023 and July 2025) deleted the app from the apps list before running Locksmith's code-removal process and were left with locked collections or leftover CSS; Lightward replied to both explaining the removal step. A 2021 review reported bots buying locked items, which is the direct-to-checkout limitation described above. Best fit: blended stores that need the Shop app to keep working, complex conditions, or developer-level customization. Poor fit: headless storefronts (not supported) and merchants who want the lowest fixed price.

Sami B2B Lock,Password Protect

Top of the Shopify App Store listing page for Sami B2B Lock,Password Protect

Source: Shopify App Store (Sami B2B Lock,Password Protect), retrieved September 8, 2026

Sami B2B Lock,Password Protect, by Samita (Hanoi), launched June 2023 and has the largest review base here: 4.9 from 973 reviews, Built for Shopify. The FREE plan allows one lock across any content type. Paid plans are $9.99, $19.99, and $29.99 per month for Basic, Grow, and Advanced Shopify stores (17% off annually, 15-day trial) and include unlimited locks, whole-site restriction, hide price and add to cart, customer selection, "Hide price on Google," and date/time conditions. No Plus-specific plan is listed.

Ten one-star reviews exist. The two most recent (both August 15, 2026) are the ones to read: one found leftover Liquid after support said no cleanup was needed; the other is the locked-collection purchase case quoted earlier. An August 2025 review says prices "are still visible in goggle search" on the Pro plan. Best fit: a single lock at no cost, or the lowest-priced full lock set. Poor fit: anyone who needs the lock itself to prevent purchases without configuring the separate checkout feature.

BSS B2B Lock, Login & Password

Top of the Shopify App Store listing page for BSS B2B Lock, Login & Password

Source: Shopify App Store (BSS B2B Lock, Login & Password), retrieved September 8, 2026

BSS B2B Lock, Login & Password, by BSS B2B Suite (Ha Noi), launched December 2019, rates 4.9 from 632 reviews, Built for Shopify. The Free plan only locks the entire website by condition. Basic ($9.99/month), Grow ($24.99/month), and Advanced ($49.99/month) add hiding products, pages, and prices, URL and tag locks, passcodes, and analytics, with 20% off annually and a 7-day trial. BSS's pricing documentation adds a Plus plan at $79.99/month that is not shown on the listing card. That same document lists "Checkout locks" from the Basic plan in its feature matrix while also saying "The Plus plan also includes Checkout Lock," so confirm with support which plan you need for checkout blocking on your Shopify plan. The app integrates with BSS's wholesale pricing and quote apps.

Fourteen one-star reviews. Two 2026 reviews (February and July) report a site still blocked or code left behind after uninstalling; a 2024 three-star review says "EVERYTHING needs to be installed by the dev team." Best fit: stores already using the BSS B2B Suite, or Plus merchants who want checkout validation by product, tag, or IP. Poor fit: merchants expecting a same-day self-serve setup.

Wholesale Lock Manager: B2B

Top of the Shopify App Store listing page for Wholesale Lock Manager: B2B

Source: Shopify App Store (Wholesale Lock Manager: B2B), retrieved September 8, 2026

Wholesale Lock Manager: B2B, by Wholesale Helper (London), launched January 2018, rates 4.9 from 213 reviews, Built for Shopify. There is no free plan for live stores; development and trial stores get every feature free. Paid plans are $9.99, $16.99, and $24.99 per month for Basic, Grow, and Advanced (17% off annually, 7-day trial) and all include the same features: locks on products, collections, pages, or the storefront, login-to-view-price, hiding products from site search and Google, passcode pages, secret links, and "Protect free products from bot checkouts." A useful operational detail is that locks can be tested on unpublished themes before going live.

Six one-star reviews, three of which (2019, 2021, 2024) describe theme code left behind after uninstalling, and one from 2025 reports being billed after removing the app (the developer replied offering a refund). Best fit: merchants using Wholesale Helper's pricing or order-form apps, or who are on the Grow plan and want the lowest Grow-tier price among the plan-tiered apps here ($16.99/month). Poor fit: catalogs with many variants, where a 2024 review reported variant selectors breaking.

Easy Wholesale Lock for B2B

Top of the Shopify App Store listing page for Easy Wholesale Lock for B2B

Source: Shopify App Store (Easy Wholesale Lock for B2B), retrieved September 8, 2026

Easy Wholesale Lock for B2B, by Easy Lockdown Inc (Victoria, BC), launched February 2017 and rates 4.5 from 237 reviews, Built for Shopify. It has the simplest pricing here: one PREMIUM PLAN at $9/month with a 14-day trial, free on development stores. Its distinctive conditions are behavioral: grant access by number of orders or money spent, or by any combination of customer information, with tag-based exclusions. It also hides prices with a "Login to see price" feature. The listing shows it works with Shopify Admin; Checkout is not listed.

It also has the highest share of one-star reviews (16 of 237), and they say the same thing: the app writes into theme code, and uninstalling without first removing the locks from inside the app broke sites in September 2024, June 2025, October 2025, and twice in February 2026. The developer's replies confirm the design: "our app modifies your theme in order to lock the content you requested. This can be removed easily before uninstalling." Best fit: a flat $9/month with order-history-based access. Poor fit: anyone who cannot commit to the in-app removal step before uninstalling.

SP Hide Price & Access Control

Top of the Shopify App Store listing page for SP Hide Price & Access Control

Source: Shopify App Store (SP Hide Price & Access Control), retrieved September 8, 2026

SP Hide Price & Access Control, by Shopplaza B2B (Ha Noi), is the newest app in the set (launched August 14, 2025) and the only one that is free with no listed paid plan. It rates 5.0 from 64 reviews with zero one-star reviews so far, Built for Shopify. It hides prices on products, collections, pages, and Google results, replaces the price with a Login, WhatsApp, or custom call-to-action, locks by login, customer tag, location, IP, or age, and offers rule preview, bulk management, and conflict detection. It works with Shopify Admin only; no checkout integration is listed. Best fit: testing the hide-price pattern at zero cost, or pairing with a request-a-quote app (one July 2026 review describes exactly that setup). Poor fit: merchants who weight a multi-year track record, or who need a checkout-level block.

How to choose

Work through these in order, because the first two options cost nothing extra.

  • You run a dedicated B2B store. Turn on Restrict access to B2B customers only under Store access, then ask Shopify Support to confirm checkout login requirements. Skip the app unless you need page-level exceptions.
  • You are pre-launch or invite-only for the whole store. Use Private mode. Accept that your store will not appear in Shop while it is on.
  • You run a blended store and have a developer. Wrap price and add-to-cart markup in {% if customer %}. Set wholesale-only products to Unlisted so they leave search, sitemap, collections, and Shopify Catalog. Understand that /products/{handle}.js still returns the price.
  • Blended store, no developer, and Shop app orders matter. Locksmith is the only app on Shopify's published exception list. Budget the suggested price for your plan and use Checkout Validation for anything that must not be purchased.
  • Lowest fixed monthly cost. Sami (one free lock, then $9.99/month), Wholesale Lock Manager ($9.99/month), or Easy Wholesale Lock ($9/month). SP Hide Price & Access Control is free today, with a one-year track record.
  • You already run a BSS or Wholesale Helper stack. Use the matching lock app so tags and customer groups stay in one system.

Whichever route you take, do two things before going live. First, open an incognito window and load yourstore.com/products/any-locked-handle.js to see for yourself what the lock does not cover. Second, read the vendor's uninstall instructions now, not when you leave: every paid app in this list has reviews from 2024 to 2026 from merchants who deleted the app from the Shopify apps list first and then spent days repairing their theme.

Sources

RelatedShopify's Product Comparison Category Has 223 Apps and 149 of Them Are Size Charts

We counted every app in the Shopify App Store's Product comparison category: 223 apps, of which 149 are size charts, fit finders, or virtual try-on. Only 46 have compare, spec, versus, or table in the name, and those 46 hold 297 reviews between them — a quarter of what one size chart app has on its own. Then the naming problem: Liquid's `compare_at_price` is a price, Horizon's `comparison-slider` block is a before/after photo wipe, and `taxonomy_category` won't give you the category's attributes. Nine apps compared on six incompatible pricing meters, one 'free plan' that is only free on a development store, and a free tier that puts ads on your product page. Prices verified on the Shopify App Store September 8, 2026.